Such Happiness In Thought Happens

January 10, 2008

Good Keyboard Shortcuts to know for Outlook

Instead of me giving you a list of keyboard shortcuts in Outlook that might make your life easier, I instead would like to draw your attention to where you can discover this for yourself, so you can decide which ones are useful or not.

In Outlook, look at the familiar New button. You more than likely use it a lot to create a new email or new appointment as required. What may not be known is that if I am in my Inbox looking at an email, and suddenly know I have to make a Meeting Request with someone, that I can make the Meeting Request without having to go into my Calendar. To do it I click on the little arrow beside the New Button and there it is – Meeting Request or Ctrl+Shift+Q

.Common Outlook Keyboard Shortcuts

If I am in my Calendar and realise I need to email a supplier about something I can use the keyboard shortcut of Ctrl+Shift+M. Soo spend some time learning what you would use most and learn those keyboard shortcuts.

Another common thing to do in Outlook is to change folders – from the Inbox to the Calendar, or to the Contacts. I can easily use my mouse and click on the appropriate folder, or I can click Ctrl+2 to go to my calendar. The folder navigation shortcut keys can be found under the Go menu.

Folder shortcut keys

Remember anything that shaves off a few seconds from what you would normally do does add up during the day.

2 Comments »

  1. You are making me investigate Outlook further! Thanks for all the tips!! cool bananas!

    Comment by Ali — January 11, 2008 @ 4:06 pm

  2. As a trainer, I am quite surprise how few people look for help. These tips work, and the help system works too. Go to help and type keyboard shortcuts – then read. Way better than mouse.

    Comment by tom — August 18, 2009 @ 12:46 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

