Such Happiness In Thought Happens

September 12, 2008

My thoughts on 4th edition (particularly how it affects FR)

Filed under: Role playing — Tags: — Duane @ 12:52 pm

It’s been awhile since I have done a post on anything bar the girls and life in general, but this is something that has been on my mind a bit so I thought I would post it. It has to do with the new edition of D&D (Dungeons and Dragons for those not in the know) and my thoughts about it. So if you are not into RPGs, better skip this post.

I had always been a bit skeptical about the new edition from what I had heard through the grapevine and on the net. But I was willing to give it a chance and see how it goes. We went to the game day in June and played and purchased the 4e PHB just to get an idea about what it was like. Of course since then we have not had the chance to scratch ourselves, let alone play. Then of course there was the word on what changes would happen to the Forgotten Realms campaign setting, to make it more in line with 4e’s mindset of “Points of Light” – small pockets of good and civility in a sea of evil and chaos. Information was leaked early with the Grand History of the Realms, then there were the exercepts of material from the FRCG (Forgotten Realms Campaign Guide) and things were not looking as good. However I decided to purchase the book and see what I thought after that.

Now I don’t want anything to do with 4e, particularly how it affects the Forgotten Realms. I was able to look over a copy a mate purchased and peruse the tome. From the start, through to the end, I was not happy at all with what has been done to the Forgotten Realms. Of course I am not alone with this thought (check out Candlekeep.com and its forums for others’ thoughts). And the designers justify what has been done as “they wish to attract new blood”. Well, what about the old blood that has been happy with how things are for so long? Are they willing to attract some new players to the Realms, to lose a large number of current fans? It just doesn’t make sense to me.

Because of this I have decided not to buy the FRCG and I definitely will not be purchasing any RPG material that WotC produces for any time in the future as I really do not think 4e is not for me. I have to think what I want to do with the FR novels, as I do enjoy reading those (despite what others think about the writing style, etc). So for the time being when play recommences for our group it will be with 3.x and more than likely the customisations I have been doing we will be using for the forseeable future.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

